The BMI- The path to body insecurities

One of the things that I had on my mind this week. The BMI (Body Mass Index) score and its effects that it has on women.

The definition of BMI is :

The body mass index (BMI) or Quetelet index is a value derived from the mass (weight) and height of an individual. The BMI is defined as the body mass divided by the square of the body height, and is universally expressed in units of kg/m2, resulting from mass in kilograms and height in metres.

standard-bmi-chart

I started to think about the BMI because of the effect that it had on my self-esteem in the past and the emotional weight that it carries in the women around me. For them having an underweight or healthy BMI is the only thing that they care about.

Relying on it to feel more beautiful, sexy, desirable and confident.

Thinking constantly

  • If I lose weight I can do this…
  • If I lose weight I can wear that…
  • If I lose weight I can apply for that job
  • If I lose weight he/she will love me

I am 1,68cm (5’6) and 69kg (10stones and 12lbs) I wear a Medium overall or a size 8 on top and 10 at the bottom. I recently went around into different stores and different brands and picked up everything size 8/10 tops and 10 bottoms and it fitted perfectly.

These are roughly the same measurements that I had 3 years ago, at my lowest adult weight, where I used to weigh 63kgs, be a small/Medium size overall and a size 8 and 10.

My measurements haven’t changed what changed was my body composition. I have been going steadily to the gym for the past 4 years about 3x to 4x a week. I rarely do more than 10 minutes of cardio, concentrating mainly on weights and HIIT workouts.

My weight fluctuated throughout the 4 years, been at my heaviest 75kgs and lowest 63kgs but I gained muscle, so I always weighed heavier than what I looked, maximum going up to a size 12.

“A pound of muscle weighs the same as a pound of fat. But the body fat is more “fluffy” and the muscle is more “dense and compact.” Muscles take up less space in your body, so body weight may go up as you add compact, tight muscle mass” . Prevention.com

Because I gained muscle I am still heavier than what I look but still roughly with the same body composition.

I am now leg pressing 86kgs on the machines (hopefully 100kgs soon) so my legs are very strong and toned, my arms not so much. It took me 4 years to be able to leg press this weight.

I cannot possibly be overweight being a size 8/10

I feel more confident and stronger than I ever felt. (not all the time confident but I feel good)

3e888b5dc365d7a88dc0a283b8d633c1
(not me) Body positivity Queen

My legs are toned and I have an hourglass-ish figure. My bra size is a 32E, Still, the BMI score says that I am borderline unhealthy/overweight

I still wear the same clothes been 63kgs and being 69kgs ( I hate shopping, even though I love clothes and I’m skint)

The chart above says that I am borderline overweight with a BMI of 24 (green) 1kg away from being 25 (yellow) overweight.

According to the chart to be a healthy weight I should be between 52kgs and 68kgs. At a minimum of -17kgs of what I am right now. In reality, I feel at my best when I am between 66kgs and 70kgs

I feel better when I have some curves and some ass for the BF to grab and jiggle when I walk.

I am 31 years old.

  • What about the younger girls?
  • what about the girls with health issues that make it difficult to control their weight?
  • what about girls with body image and lack of self-esteem issues?
  • what about the girls with eating disorders?
  • What about the preteens that are highly impressionable and don’t know that they do not need to look like the skinny models and actresses in magazines to be beautiful.
  • Some women look better heavier than skinnier. They carry weight differently and look better heavier than with -20kgs like the chart advises
  • you can be a size 14+ and be healthier, more confident and with better fitness levels than someone with a size 6 to 12

 

29AA57F100000578-3126362-image-a-4_1434460604242
Yoga Teacher Queen Jessamyn Stanley

 

The people who created the BMI score have they ever considered the negative effects that this could have in men/women’s mental health if not properly supervised and with enough psychological support and individual assessments behind?

I work currently with mostly women. Some of them don’t eat at all during the day, only drinking coffee, to keep themselves going because they don’t want to put on weight, even though they are already a size 4.

Others will have a salad every day and feel bad about themselves for adding sauce to it.

Others will be constantly putting themselves out of doing things because their weight is not considered acceptable, even though they already look amazing and are incredibly beautiful.

Others will be forever on some fad diet, or soup/shakes/ juice diet, slimming clubs and subscriptions.

What to do?

  • I believe medical organizations around the world like the NHS should abolish the BMI score. Access every individual according to their age and personal preference.
  • As long as their weight does not become a medical issue and they are comfortable and happy, women in particular, are statistically more vulnerable to society’s pressure, should not be told of how much is acceptable for them to weight.
  • More body diversity across all social media, fashion, advertisement and print media.

 

serena-williams-self-2_t
Serena Williams, The greatest athlete of all time 

 

Leave a Reply

